The Donald Gets the Business

Seth Meyers

Image via Wikipedia

Ten years ago I didn’t even know what the White House Correspondents Association Dinner was…or cared once I did. Ten years ago or so, I was perfectly content to enjoy the process as I worked my way through school to get my teaching degree. I studied history, was extremely absorbed in the subject, but was not all that politically plugged in. Oh sure, I knew the basics, and then some, but I was not anything like the political junkie I’ve become. The more I studied, the more I became much more aware of how we actually got to this point in history. I became fascinated by the people and events that shape our lives today. I was challenged to dig beneath names and dates which are really the most pedestrian pursuits of the study of history. I was appalled at my stunning lack of knowledge of America’s rise and history…the whole picture, warts and all. It was then that I began to really pay attention to the political scene and its players. My interest in the political world grew exponentially as the years went on. Today, I read as much as possible about what goes on in Washington and the world. I have become almost obsessed. That’s why last night I so eagerly anticipated this dinner, admittedly much like Super bowl Sunday. Game on!

ROTFL. Seriously. I was literally rolling on the floor laughing (I left out the longer acronym–YOU know which one that is), as I watched C-SPAN last night. C-SPAN you ask? Yes, C-SPAN! C’mon guys, weren’t you all watching the telecast on C-SPAN of the White House Correspondents Association Dinner last night? I spent all day in sweaty anticipation of this event. The dinner, historically, is a gathering of press and politicians. In the last few years it has gone a little more “Hollywood” with some stars dotting the landscape. But the real “stars”on this night are the president and the guest “comedian”. This is what I have enjoyed over the years. There was the debacle of Don Imus making inappropriate remarks about Bill Clinton’s sexual prowess as Mrs. Clinton looked on, none too amused. Ouch. One year, President George W. Bush stood side-by-side with a comedian who made a living off of impersonating him which was pretty hysterical to watch. The fake George would execute the perfect enunciation of such words as “nuclear”, and the real George would botch it! Gotta love it. It’s always fun to watch a president exhibit some self-deprecating humor and then get a few barbs in directed at his critics. To be president you simply must have a thick skin.

Last night’s festivities did not disappoint. After I read that Donald Trump, the wind-bag du jour of the Republican Party’s possible presidential cast of characters was attending, I KNEW this was going to be uhm… interesting. Trump, the guy who brags like a 5th grader about all of his great qualities (like how much richer he is than anybody else), and who has been throwing his super-sized mouth and ego around for all the world to hear for weeks now, was going to be there. The Donald, the guy who has been making some exceptionally detrimental and accusatory statements about the president was going to be in attendance. The man who has basically been calling President Obama a liar and even worse, a conspirator in some outlandish scheme to dupe the American public and the world was going to be within earshot of his arch enemy. All I can say is after watching it… OH-EM-GEE! Not only was it entertaining and wickedly clever, but I thoroughly enjoyed the comeuppance of The Donald who sat stone-faced and humorless as first the president, but especially Seth Meyers, eviscerated him. I watched with glee as President Obama showed his “birth video”, which consisted of the birth scene of Simba in the Lion King, you know, in AFRICA. The prez lands a vicious right-hook! Barak Obama must have really enjoyed this night as he has had to endure the unprecedented humiliation of being accused day-after day for years now that he is not really “American”. Yeah, he’s that Kenyan. Yeah, he’s that MUSLIM. He secretly hates America. He’s certainly not one of “us”…wink, wink. Donald Trump has been only the latest, but definitely the most obnoxious piler-on to the “birther” non-sense. For weeks, he has disparaged our President. Mocked him. Claimed he sent “people” to Hawaii to “get to the bottom of this” birth certificate. He claimed that “his people can’t believe what they are finding out.” Gee Donald, what would we ever do without you? Also, I don’t know about you, but whenever some hot-shot talks about “his people”, I kinda wanna puke. Americans just love boastful millionaires with foul-mouths and swagger evidently. Facts, reason, and dignity be damned!

But back to the fun part! After the President knocked it out of the park with his typical cool nature and dead-pan delivery of the jokes written for him, came the headliner of the evening, Seth Meyers from Saturday Night Live. Where President Obama used a scalpel to perform surgery on Trump, Meyers used a good old-fashioned meat-ax! I could not get enough! Here are some of the best lines of the night directed at Trump:

“Donald Trump has said he’s running for president as a Republican — which is surprising because I thought he was running as a joke. “ Boom!

“Donald Trump owns the Miss USA pageant, which is great for Republicans because it will streamline their search for a vice president.” Bam!

“Gary Busey said recently that Donald Trump would make a great president. Of course, he said the same thing about an old, rusty bird cage he found.” Pow!

“Donald Trump said recently that he has a great relationship with the blacks. But unless the Blacks are a family of white people, I’ll bet he’s mistaken.” Game. Set. Match.

Trump sat staring dead ahead, fuming, during Meyer’s routine. It kind of reminded me of a character on any old cartoon whose head is shown, when furious, to be a thermometer which, after the mercury rises to dangerous levels, explodes. Are ya kidding me? Talk about thin-skinned. You run around the country and demean our president at every turn, make a vulgar speech which displayed a total lack of class and respect for the political process, and now some jokes at a roast hurt your wittle feelings? Get a grip Donald. If you do decide to throw your hair hat into the ring for 2012, this is nothing. I say, bring it on Chump Trump, I cannot wait to watch your life get put under the big microscope. One piece of advice though… better start growing that skin really thick because if you’re going to dish it out, you sure as hell had better be able to take it. Game on!

About Blithering Idiot

I am a teacher and I love my job.
This entry was posted in conservatives, Donald Trump, Humor, politics, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

